May 1, 2019

Contact Kylie Mason

Phone 850-245-0150



Attorney General Ashley Moody News Release

AG Moody Urges Congress to Fund Legal Services

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.—Attorney General Ashley Moody is urging Congress to fund the Legal Services Corporation. LSC is a nonprofit legal services organization established by Congress in 1974 to promote equal access to justice for all Americans by funding independent nonprofit legal aid programs across the country, including Florida. Attorney General Moody is one of more than 40 attorneys general nationwide asking Congress to act.

Attorney General Ashley Moody said, "Access to the courts is a cornerstone of the United States Justice System. As a former judge, I believe the availability of qualified legal counsel is not only necessary, it's fundamental to upholding our contract with the American people. I am joining my fellow attorneys general in asking Congress to approve continued funding of the Legal Services Corporation to help ensure access to the courts for all Americans."

The coalition of 42 attorneys general today sent letters to the U.S. House and U.S. Senate Committees on Appropriations to request funding for the LSC appropriations bill. LSC provides millions of dollars in funding to legal aid organizations that serve and support low-income individuals, veterans and military families, seniors, survivors of domestic violence, victims of natural disasters and disabled individuals.

To view the to the U.S. House letter, click here.

The U.S. Senate letter can be viewed here.

LSC distributes more than 90 percent of its funding to 132 independent nonprofit legal aid programs with more than 800 offices. It is headed by a bipartisan board of directors whose 11 members are appointed by President Donald J. Trump and confirmed by the United States Senate.

For more information about Legal Services in Florida, click here.

Attorneys general in Massachusetts and Montana co-sponsored the letter. In signing the letter, Attorney General Moody joins attorneys general from Alaska, American Samoa, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.